Dona Nobis Pacem

Shostakovich versus Ustvolskay: that’s the premise of this entirely Russian requiem concert. The ultimate silencing of the final string quartet by Shostakovich stands straight across the unrelenting hardness of the three Compositions by Galina Ustvolskaya – sometimes called “the composer with hammer”.

Where Shostakovich submits himself to death coming through a series of silenced and extremely fragile elegies, Ustvolskaya assails like a madwoman the seemingly impenetrable concrete Gates of Heaven. Her music sounds unwavering. But behind all this violence hides mainly an immeasurable vulnerability, as if the composer is doomed for eternity to resist against her own despair.

Here, an impressive, confronting and above all, unique musical experience is presented to you.

Programme & credits


Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)
String Quartet nr. 15 (1974)

Galina Ustvolskaya (1919-2006)
Composition nr.1 Dona Nobis Pacem (1970-71)

Galina Ustvolskaya (1919-2006)
Composition nr.2 Dies Irae (1972-73)

Galina Ustvolskaya (1919-2006)
Composition nr.3 Benedictus, Qui Venit (1974-75)


Piano: Gerard Bouwhuis (musical director)
Artistic director: Filip Rathé


There are no dates for this programme