After the much appraised collaboration in Berio’s Recital for Cathy and Ligeti’s Violin Concerto with Barnabás Kelemen, SPECTRA and the Düsseldorf-based ensemble Notabu unite their forces for a third time, now to celebrate the seventieth birthday of the German composer Manfred Trojahn.

The program consists of his Four Women from Shakespeare as a counterpart to Quatre chants pour franchir le seuil. Both works focus on the female voice. Trojahn pictures Shakespeare’s tragic protagonists Titiana, Juliet, Ophelia and Lady Macbeth whilst Grisey’s siren mourns over the death of an angel, a civilization, the voice and mankind itself.

The British composer Charlotte Bray completes this tryptic with a new piece, a joint commission with the Birmingham Contemporary Music Group.

Programme & credits


Manfred Trojahn (°1949)
Four Women from Shakespeare (2015)

Charlotte Bray (°1982)
Red Swans Floating (2019)

Gérard Grisey (1946 - 1998)
Quatre chants pour franchir le seuil (1996 - 1998)


notabu.ensemble neue musik (D)
conducted by Filip Rathé and Mark-Andreas Schlingensiepen
sopraan: Marisol Montalvo


Saturday 08 June 2019, 21:00
Düsseldorf (DE), Tonhalle